Birds of the Northwest Territories

Birds of the Northwest Territories Specialties

NWT Territorial Bird Gyrfalcon

NWT Territorial Bird Gyrfalcon

  • Gyrfalcon
  • Rock ptarmigan
  • Grey-cheeked thrush
  • Sandhill crane
  • White-rumped sandpiper
  • Long-tailed jaeger
  • Arctic tern
  • Lapland longspur
  • Solitary sandpiper
  • Sabine’s gull

309 species in 40 families

The Northwest Territories is located in north central Canada, above the 60th parallel. It borders Canada’s two other territories; Yukon to the west and Nunavut to the east, and three provinces – British Columbia to the southwest, Alberta to the south, and Saskatchewan to the southeast.

Territorial islands in the Canadian Arctic Archipelago include Banks Island, Borden Island, Prince Patrick Island and parts of Victoria and Melville Islands. The highest point is Mount Nirvana near the border with Yukon at an elevation 2,773 metres (9,098 ft).

Geographical features include the vast Great Bear and Great Slave Lakes, as well as the immense Mackenzie River and the canyons of the Nahanni National Park Reserve. Like Canada’s other northern territories, the Northwest Territories can be divided into two main geographical regions – the boreal forest belt in the south and the Arctic tundra in the north.

NWT Web Links

Northwest Territories/Nunavut Bird Checklist Survey: Checklist Forms

Where Do You Want To Go Birding in the NWT?

Birding Pals in the NWT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>